What the 21 McCarthy Reluctants Got on Committee Assignments Missed-news

The 21 House Republicans who initially blocked Rep. Kevin McCarthy from winning the presidency demanded big changes to House rules, but also wanted more influence on congressional committees that will set the GOP agenda for the next two years.

While not all who resisted got exactly what they asked for, some won assignments from McCarthy’s plum committee, R-Calif., and his allies after they helped him secure the speaker’s gavel, a process that took 15 rounds. voting.

Here’s what we know as of Tuesday night:

  • Representative Andy Biggs of Arizona, former head of the Freedom Caucus and one of the five so-called Never Kevins, will keep his place on the powerful Judiciary Committee. He changed his vote to “present” on the final speaker’s ballot, helping push McCarthy across the finish line.
  • Representative Dan Bishop of South Carolinaone of the 13 redoubts who came around to endorse McCarthy on the 12th ballot, will continue to serve on the Judiciary Committee.
  • Representative Lauren Boebert of Colorado, a vocal McCarthy critic who voted “in” on ballots 14 and 15, has won a seat on the Oversight and Accountability Committee, which plans to launch numerous investigations into the Biden administration. He will continue to serve on the Natural Resources panel, which he served on in the previous Congress.
  • First year student Representative Josh Brecheen of Oklahomawho traded McCarthy on the 12th ballot, won a seat on the Homeland Security Committee.
  • Representative Mike Cloud of Texaswho also switched McCarthy on the 12th ballot, won a new seat on the powerful Appropriations Committee, which controls federal spending.
  • Representative Andrew Clyde of Georgiaanother lawmaker who traded McCarthy on the 12th ballot will serve on Appropriations for the first time.
  • First year student Representative Eli Crane of Arizonawho voted “present” on ballot number 15, will be part of the Homeland Security Committee.
  • Florida Representative Byron Donalds, who was nominated to run against McCarthy for the speakership and passed to him on the 12th ballot, was named by McCarthy as the “speaker’s pick” on the influential Steering Committee, which decides which legislators get sledgehammers and seats in the committee. Donalds also won a coveted seat on the Financial Services Committee, a top panel known on Capitol Hill as the “A” committee.
  • Florida Representative Matt Gaetzperhaps McCarthy’s most vocal foe during the speaker fight, who switched to “present” in round 14, will continue to serve on the Judicial panel.
  • Representative Bob Good of Virginiaone of the Never Kevins who happened to be “present” in the last round of voting, has yet to receive his committee assignments.
  • Representative Paul Gosar of Arizona, who traded McCarthy on the 12th ballot, was reinstated by Republicans on the Natural Resources Committee after Democrats removed him two years ago for posting threats to lawmakers on social media. Gosar also got a new seat on the Oversight panel.
  • Representative Andy Harris of Maryland, who traded McCarthy on the 13th ballot, will continue to serve on the Appropriations panel. Harris, a physician, will serve as the subcommittee chair of the Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration.
  • First year student Representative Anna Paulina Luna of Floridawho switched McCarthy on the 12th ballot, won a seat on the Natural Resources panel.
  • Representative Mary Miller of Illinoiswho switched McCarthy on the 12th ballot, will remain on the Agriculture Committee.
  • Representative Ralph Norman of South Carolinaone of the Never Kevins who traded McCarthy on the 12th ballot, will remain on the Financial Services panel, which he joined in June.
  • First year student Representative Andy Ogles of Tennesseewhich flipped McCarthy on the 12th ballot, also won a seat in Financial Services.
  • Representative Scott Perry of Pennsylvaniathe chairman of the far-right House Freedom Caucus, who brokered a deal between the Conservatives and McCarthy, will remain on the Foreign Affairs Committee.
  • Representative Matt Rosendale of Montanaa Never Kevin who became “present” on the final ballot will continue to serve in Natural Resources.
  • Representative Chip Roy of Texaswho along with Perry helped broker a settlement with McCarthy, will retain his seat on the Judiciary panel.
  • First year student Representative Keith Self, Republican of Texaswho switched McCarthy on the 12th ballot, will sit on the Foreign Affairs panel.
  • Representative Victoria Spartz of Indianawho went from being “present” to voting for McCarthy on the 12th ballot, will continue to serve on the Judiciary panel.

In addition to the committee assignments, McCarthy had made other concessions to his right flank. He promised Freedom Caucus members would get three seats on the speaker-controlled Rules Committee, which decides exactly how bills are considered on the House floor.

In the package of rule changes that McCarthy and the Freedom Caucus negotiated for the 118th Congress, there was a provision that allowed a single legislator to force a plenary vote to oust McCarthy as president.

Some Freedom Caucus members who stuck with McCarthy early on also did well. Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, a Republican from Georgia, a McCarthy ally who was stripped of her committee seats by Democrats two years ago, won seats on the Oversight and Homeland Security committees.

Meanwhile, Rep. Warren Davidson of Ohio, another Freedom Caucus member and McCarthy ally, was appointed president of the Subcommittee on Financial Services on Housing and Insurance.

haley talbot contributed.

Latest articles

This slap fighter was hit so hard it may have caused memory loss Missed-news

The slap fight is not new, but now it is more popular. Slap fighting, or slap boxing, is believed to...

My wife told me all about her sexual past and I’m having mini panic attacks | sex Missed-news

i'm in my mid 40'ss and have been married for more than a decade. My wife is not a loving person, while I...

Centuries of stargazing leave Jesuit names written in the sky Missed-news

Centuries after the Holy See gagged and burned Roman Catholic astronomers for questioning Earth's centrality in the cosmos, Jesuit astronomers at the Vatican's internal...

Related articles